## French Overseas Regions and Territories Explained https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQ-mwO30 68 (9:38 minutes) France is divided into how many regions total? In Metropolitan France (in Europe) there are \_\_\_\_\_\_ regions + Corsica (territory) Metropolitan France accounts for \_\_\_\_\_% of French land and \_\_\_\_\_% of the French population. Outside of Metropolitan France (Outside of Europe) there are – \_\_\_\_\_ more regions. Fill in the names of the missing Overseas French Departments:

In the Caribbean:

- Guadeloupe

\_\_\_\_:

In

- French Guiana (the of the overseas departments)

In the Indian Ocean:

- Réunion (the \_\_\_\_\_\_ of the overseas departments)
- Mayotte (the \_\_\_\_\_\_ and least populous)

These are not just territories. They are part of the country of France, just like Alaska and Hawaii are part of the U.S. They are also part of the and the Euro Zone so they use the as their form of currency.

Collectivité d'outre-mer (under French sovereignty, with varying degrees of autonomy)

In the South Pacific

(un pays d'outre-mer, overseas country, with its own president.) It includes the islands of

Tahiti, Bora Bora

In the Caribbean:

- Saint Martin (The French part is 60% of the island of St. Martin. The other 40% is \_\_\_\_\_\_
- Saint Barthélemy (It was for nearly a century. The coat of arms still shows the crowns.)

In North America (off the eastern coast of Canada, south of Newfoundland)

- Saint Pierre and Miguelon (the only part of the former to remain under French control) In Oceania (South Pacific)
  - Wallis and Futuna
  - -New Caledonia (un pays d'outre-mer, overseas country, with its own .)

Southern Indian Ocean:

- French Southern and \_\_\_\_\_ Lands

Pacific

- Clipperton Island (south-west of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ – 6 kilometers square and uninhabited)

(Département d'Outre-Mer = DOM means : )