• Reflections 

    The National PTA Reflections Program is an arts recognition and achievement program for students. The Reflections Program provides opportunities for students to express themselves creatively and to receive positive recognition for original works of art inspired by a pre-selected theme, while increasing community awareness on the importance of the arts in education.

    Participation and appreciation for the arts is the Reflections Program's goal. Although the Reflections Program follows a "contest" format, winning should not be the emphasis.

    Participation in the Reflections Program is a great way for students to explore and learn about various art forms. Creating art is a valuable learning process that challenges students to use their critical thinking skills as well as their creative talents to create art that supports a specific theme.

     Students may submit an entry in any of the six arts areas listed below. Only original works of art are accepted. The six arts areas are as follows:

    • Literature
    • Musical Composition
    • Photography
    • Visual arts
    • Dance Choreography
    • Film/Video Production
    Student works are critiqued against others in the same grade division. This allows recognition and judging of artworks by appropriate developmental age and skill levels.
    •  Primary Preschool Grade 2 or up to age 7
    • Intermediate Grades 3-5 or ages 8-10

    Please remember that:

    • All entries submitted must be original works and must relate to the annual Reflections Program theme.
    • Each entry must be the work of only one student. Assistance from teachers, parents or friends is not permitted except in special cases (such as for those with visual or physical disabilities)
    • Participation encourages creativity and exploration. Students should do their best, but crooked lines, incorrect musical notes, or misspelled words do not disqualify anyone.
Last Modified on May 16, 2017